![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Steiner Tor is the symbol of Krems and the only surviving of the four former city gates. The main tower from the late 15th century bears a number of inscriptions on the outside, including the AEIOU motto (“Alles Erdreich ist Österreich untertan”=All soil is subject to Austria) in memory of Frederick III. Three coat of arms from 1756 adorn the city entrance. On the left that awarded by Emperor Friedrich III. and still valid today, which shows the crowned double-headed eagle on a black background. The Outside of the Steinertor the area was originally endangered by Danube floods. The demolition of the city walls, which also formed the flood protection, was only possible through the regulation of the river in the 19th century and extensive dam construction south of the old town of Krems as accompanying measures for the construction of the Wachau Railway in the early 20th century.
Please login or register.