In 1398 King Wenzel allowed the Heilsbronn monastery to fortify his village of Merkendorf. The 1100 meter long wall was built for 30 years. The water-filled moat, which the city exchanged from the monastery in 1559, is still picturesque today. Here the horses were driven to the floodplain and the youth romped about on the ice. The moat served as a mill pond for the town mill, which was demolished in 1952. When fishing, a gulden fish tithing had to be paid to the pastor in Wolframs-Eschenbach.
*** Best viewed at original size ***